Children At Work

28 May
Taken at a local orphanage

This picture was posted before on my photoblog, titled The Orphanage

I’ve been spending some more time on Flickr. And then I discovered works of many good photographers from which I could learn something, but there is one photographer who’s done a great job and that’s why I want to share the link here on my personal blog,

According to his profile on Flickr, Mio Cade is an International Consultant for NGOs from Singapore. He’s taken many pictures of working children. I’ve seen pictures of working children in Cambodia. This photographer asks people for donation for these children. The pictures are very touching. I cannot share a specific favorite picture that was taken by him because there are many of them. Every shot has its own story.

I’ve been aware of the child labor in Cambodia, but this was the first time to view this. And I know that there are friends who will tell me that even in Suriname we see children at work. This is true! But I’m sure that I’ve never seen these kind of work done by children as the ones I’ve seen on this blog.

So, here’s the link to the photostream of Mio Cade: http://www.flickr.com/photos/ramdiboy/

And here’s a favorite quote about child labor by Kofi Anan, the previous Secretary of General U.N.:

“There is no trust more sacred than the one the world holds with children. There is no duty more important than ensuring that their rights are respected, that their welfare is protected, that their lives are free from fear and want and that they can grow up in peace.”

Thank You,

Kavita

Leave a Reply

