Divali- Festival of Lights

22 Oct

October 2009

On the 26th of October, Divali (Deepavali) will be celebrated by every Hindu. Even I’m going to celebrate this day, but today, the shop where I work at, started selling Divali-items from India. All those Dia’s (oil lamps) in different models. But I won’t talk about what I sell in the store.

Divali, also known as Deepavali, is the festival for lights which has been celebrated for several reasons, occuring between mid October- mid November. For many Hindus, Divali’s the most important festival . Even in Suriname, Divali is one of the most important festivals. And last year, this day will be a national day for every Surinamese.

Lights!

Lights

Divali is also a day for preparing sweets (if you’re home) and eating vegetarian food on that day. We start eating vegetarian food 3 days before Divali, but some started with Navratrie (which is a month before Divali).

Since the last few years (5years), Divali’s been fun but I also get tired a lot. There’s a lot of work like cleaning the house and also working in the shop till the Divali day. But on every Divali, I make sure that some Divali-shots are taken. I really enjoy doing that! So, I’ll be sharing some of my Divali shots. I don’t have a lot Divali photos anymore, because last year, on Divali-day, my external harddrive crashed, so I lost every photo. ¬†Luckily, I had my photos of that day, saved on my CF-card.

Because I’m really tired today, I have to leave you now, but keep enjoying my photos (and feel free to send me feedback).

Subh Divali (Happy Divali)

This is one of the photos I lost last year when I had a harddrive crash. But I had ;posted this one on of my personal profiles, so I'd save it.

!!!!

One Response to “Divali- Festival of Lights”

  1. Akhil 16/02/2012 at 02:42 #

    Very good article about diwali in suriname

Leave a Reply

