First time…..at The Orphanage

12 May

 

These boys really enjoyed the food... 

A personal visit to a local orphanage, I met some children who touched my heart. Though we couldn’t interact much and I couldn’t take many photos, I talked to a few children. It was my first time of visiting an orphanage and I wasn’t really prepared for it. Romana, one of the girls I met there, is a cheerful child and she seemed to be happy with the visitor. She is unable to talk nor to hear. She stole my heart. It is the first time I visited an orphanage, but it is certainly not the first time I’ve met children from an orphanage. Two years ago I met children of another orphanage. Their situation looked much better, well dressed, polite and wasted a lot of food and snacks which was arranged for them (most of them wasn’t living with their parents due financial circumstances). Not that the children of the orphanage where Romana stays, were impolite , but if these children are not taught, they won’t learn it. Because the shock, I didn’t say anything . I saw no bad situation there, but there was a lack of personal attention towards the children. I believe that kids need guidance when they grow up. Especially those who are orphans. These are only things I have noticed during my first visit. I can be wrong, but I thought I’d share this experience with you.

 Nietje enjoyed the food we brought for him. He's 3 years old and along with his elder sister and twinsister, he's new in the orphanage

Miss Cheerful Romana

Romana Romana, Miss Cheerful Romana playing...

Watching T.V

These guys weren't allow to watch tv. So they tried watching trough the wooden windows.

My Corner Girl, another cheerful girl in the orphanage, she’s both mentally and physically unstable.

The Corner girl. Because  she's mentally and physically unstable, she's sitting in the corner. At luchtime  the elder girls fed her.

28 Responses to “First time…..at The Orphanage”

  1. mhelene 13/05/2011 at 07:42 #

    A very moving series . Great portraits and reporting .

  2. DESPITE STRAIGHT LINES 15/05/2011 at 05:15 #

    Some very fine frames that carry intimacy and emotional turmoil in such young lives. Really well captured, with such a touch of hapiness amidst the sadness. Always a difficult subject matter, and you handled it very well.

    • fotovita 21/05/2011 at 22:15 #

      That’s very much appreciated. Many thanks!

  3. AMH 16/05/2011 at 00:10 #

    beautiful photos, a great job. a hug to you and to children. Alejandra

  4. mariana 16/05/2011 at 13:21 #

    Great set of pictures/ portraits ! Although hard to think of these kids I love to see their smiles , their optimism 😉

  5. Laurette 17/05/2011 at 11:23 #

    A wondeful set of lovely photos of beautiful children. It is great to see them smile no matter what their circumstances. So much we can learn from them. Thank you for shareing these wonderful images.

  6. Tracy 17/05/2011 at 14:00 #

    Beautiful images of these kids! I admire your taking the time to visit them, and caring about them!

  7. Pavan Kaul 17/05/2011 at 14:43 #

    Wonderful pictures of these lovely kids!

  8. Don 17/05/2011 at 15:01 #

    A very sensitive and informative series of pictures and explanation of these youngsters. It’s sad to think how much of a handicap growing up to not have adequate adult relationships.

    • fotovita 21/05/2011 at 22:17 #

      Yes, it’s been a long time that I’ve been in touch with handicapped children and this was a bit shocking for me. Thanx for your visit, Don!

  9. Sam 17/05/2011 at 22:33 #

    Great work. Love these happy faces. 🙂

  10. tede 18/05/2011 at 07:42 #

    Very nice series of moving images on these orphaned children. Their smiles are the most precious thing in life. Nice day.

    • fotovita 21/05/2011 at 22:18 #

      Smiles are really very precious. Well said! Thanx for your kind words.

  11. Jason Politte 18/05/2011 at 15:09 #

    Wow, what a touching experience and beautiful photos of the children here. Wonderful work!

  12. Kenny 18/05/2011 at 15:55 #

    Wonderful photographs and blog! I must admit I had never heard of your country, so I googled it and read all about the history.

    • fotovita 21/05/2011 at 22:19 #

      Thank you, Kenny! I’m sure you found many wonderful things abt Suriname:)

  13. Eric Cousineau 18/05/2011 at 18:12 #

    A wonderful tender series on these most helpless children! Well done Kavita! 😉

  14. Ashley 29/06/2011 at 16:10 #

    I would really like to adopt a child from Suriname. Do you know if this orphanage offered a program for this?

  15. Ashley 06/07/2011 at 17:04 #

    Thanks so much!

  16. Sharmila 30/08/2011 at 00:11 #

    Very well captured pics. Was the orphanage in the city or village?

    • fotovita 31/08/2011 at 22:07 #

      The oprhanage was in in Houttuin, which is in Paramaribo.

Leave a Reply

