Saoto Soup in tha house!

3 Jul

saoto

It was just a few Sundays ago that I made the well known “ Saoto soup” myself. Two weeks in advance I prepared to really make this dish! I went on the internet to look for information, I went over cookbooks and asked experts for their ”special” recipes. As I am not too familiar with cooking – as yet – , this was a great challenge to try and prepare this delicious dish.. Mom never helped me out – although she can be easily called ‘the expert’, so I was really on my own with this!
Well…, after a great Saturday night I woke up this Sunday morning, all enthusiastic to just…GO for it and prepare this… –d e l i c i o u s – soup…

 

For those who don’t know what’s Saoto Soup: Its original name is Soto Ayam which is a chicken – soup dish originally from Java, Indonesia, but with a typical Surinamese touch; it is served in every warung (Indonesian restaurant) in Suriname.  According to taste, Saoto is usually served with some other dishes liked shredded potatoes, fried Chinese vermicelli. Soato is as any other Surinamese dish, tangy and spicy and if you like, add the sambal (very hot Cayenne – pepper condiment); but only for those who dare!

I have to say.. my very own version tasted well!! I almost spent two hours in the kitchen making my Saoto soup, and it was mom who helped me after all baking all the ingredients. She just can’t trust me having me around in her kitchen.. that is!! She had to help me looking for the right the herbs as I’m not an Kitchen- Herbalist (every Surinamese cook is an herbalist to me!) . I did prepare the soup, the greatest challenge of this dish, on my own! Finally, I was done with my very first Saoto soup.. Yummy! Did I miss something? Oh yes, the m u s t, – a boiled egg- !

 

7 Responses to “Saoto Soup in tha house!”

  1. Riyazi 05/07/2010 at 12:49 #

    Hmmmm… that looks delicious!

  2. Sunder 11/08/2010 at 15:19 #

    Certainly looks delicious…
    Well framed and like the texture and diagonally placed spoon…

  3. Debby 06/09/2010 at 12:05 #

    Hmmm en al die tijd dacht ik dat je een keukenprincess was…dus net als ik ook niet echt handig in de keuken LOL!!!

  4. lalita 03/10/2010 at 10:02 #

    Wanneer kan ik me bestelling
    plaatsen maar ik wil we’ll
    saoto mt ei.

    • fotovita 03/10/2010 at 13:59 #

      hahaa…bestelling..ik wordt een hindostaanse mae!;p ahahahaahha…

Leave a Reply

